Thomas Grube

Thomas Grube realizes as director and producer a variety of documentary films for television and cinema with BOOMTOWN MEDIA.

For his film WARSAW EXPRESS he is nominated for the German Television Award 2000. In 2004, his movie RHYTHM IS IT! premieres at the Berlin International Film Festival, for which he receives the Bavarian Film Prize in 2005 and the German Film Award, the Goldene Lola. The film becomes one of the most successful documentary films in German-speaking cinema. In 2008, the movie TRIP TO ASIA is released in German cinemas. The film receives the "Tiempo del Historia Award" at the Valladolid International Film Festival 2008, the German Cinema Guild Award and the ECHO Klassik 2008 and is also one of the most successful documentary films in German cinema. Thomas Grube received the 2012 Grand Prix Golden Prague for his film LANG LANG - THE ART OF BEING A VIRTUOSO. The concert version of his film CAMERON CARPENTER - THE RECORDING receives an ECHO Klassik in 2015 with the album "If you could read my mind".

As a producer Thomas Grube is responsible for documentaries like TO FIGHT FOR by Gerardo Milsztein (World Premiere at the Berlin International Filmfestival), CINEMA JENIN by Marcus Vetter (World Premiere IDFA Amsterdam 2011) or PORGY AND ME by Susanna Boehm and Julia Gechter (World Premiere International Hofer Filmtage 2009). The feature documentary TO FIGHT FOR, which is released by Piffl Medien in German cinemas in 2010, receives the German Cinematography Award ("Best Documentary Film") in the same year. The project CINEMA JENIN is awarded the "Peace Prize of the German Film - Die Brücke" in 2011. The film also receives the German Cinematogryphy Award 2012 ("Best Documentary Film") and is released by Senator Film in June 2012 in German cinemas.

In 2014, Thomas Grube accompanies organ virtuoso Cameron Carpenter on the road to the birth of his International Touring Organ. The documentary THE SOUND OF MY LIFE, which is being developed in cooperation with ZDF / ARTE and the Japanese WOWOW, is also released on DVD by Sony Classical in 2014.

In the years 2014 to 2016, Thomas Grube is accompanying the 150th anniversary of the BASF Group in Europe, the USA, South America and India with the feature film EXPERIMENT 150. The world premiere of the 120-minute film takes place in 2016 at the 12th Festival of German Film in Ludwigshafen.

Thomas Grube is a member of the German Film Academy.

Today he is directing and producing for BOOMTOWN MEDIA and together with Andrea Thilo and Uwe Dierks was a founding member of the company.

For commercials he is represented at Fröhlich Management.

Thomas Grube

Thomas Grube realisiert als Regisseur und Produzent preisgekrönten Kino- und Fernsehfilme für BOOMTOWN MEDIA. 

1999 gründen Andrea ThiloUwe Dierks und Thomas Grube das Unternehmen in Berlin. Im Jahr 2000 wird ihre ARD Vorabend Produktion WARSCHAU EXPRESS für den Deutschen Fernsehpreis nominiert. 2004 feiert der Kinodokumentarfilm RHYTHM IS IT! Weltpremiere auf der Berlinale. 2005 erhält Thomas Grube als Regisseur den Bayerischen Filmpreis sowie als Produzent den Deutschen Filmpreis. RHYTHM IS IT! erhält ebenso eine "Goldene Lola" für den "Besten Schnitt" und wird zu einem der erfolgreichsten Dokumentarfilme im deutschsprachigen Kino. 2008 startet TRIP TO ASIA in den Kinos, der erste Film über das mysteriöse Innenleben der Berliner Philharmoniker. Die BBC Koproduktion wird beim Valladolid International Film Festival 2008 mit dem „Tiempo del Historia Award“ ausgezeichnet. Sie erhält außerdem den Preis der Deutschen Kinogilde und einen ECHO Klassik 2008 ("Beste DVD des Jahres") und zählt ebenfalls zu den äußerst erfolgreichen Dokumentarfilmen im deutschen Kino. Für  LANG LANG – THE ART OF BEING A VIRTUOSO erhält Thomas Grube 2012 den Grand Prix Golden Prague.  

Als Produzent ist Thomas Grube u. a. für die Kinofilme FRIEDENSSCHLAG von Gerardo Milsztein (Weltpremiere Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 2010), CINEMA JENIN von Marcus Vetter (Weltpremiere IDFA Amsterdam 2011) oder PORGY AND ME von Susanna Boehm und Julia Gechter (Weltpremiere Internationale Hofer Filmtage 2009) verantwortlich. FRIEDENSSCHLAG, der 2010 mit Piffl Medien in den deutschen Kinos startet, erhält im gleichen Jahr den Deutschen Kamerapreis („Bester Dokumentarfilm“) und den Deutschen Schnittpreis. CINEMA JENIN wird 2011 mit dem "Friedenspreis des Deutschen Films – Die Brücke" sowie 2012 mit dem Deutschen Kamerapreis ausgezeichnet. Der Film  startet im Verleih von Senator Film im Juni 2012 in den deutschen Kinos.

2014 begleitet Thomas Grube den Orgelvirtuosen Cameron Carpenter auf dem Weg der Entstehung seiner International Touring Organ. Der Dokumentarfilm THE SOUND OF MY LIFE, der in Zusammenarbeit mit ZDF/ARTE und dem japanischen WOWOW entsteht, wird 2014 auf DVD bei Sony Classical veröffentlicht. Die Konzertversion des Films, veröffentlicht auf dem Album "If you could read my mind" des Künstlers, wird mit dem ECHO Klassik 2015 ausgezeichnet.

2015 und 2016 begleitet Thomas Grube mit dem Kinofilm EXPERIMENT 150 das 150-jährige Jubiläum des Weltkonzerns  BASF in Europa, den USA, Südamerika und Indien. Die Weltpremiere des 120 minütigen Films findet 2016 auf dem 12. Festival des deutschen Films in Ludwigshafen statt.  

Thomas Grube ist Mitglied der Deutschen Filmakademie.

Er realisiert als Autor, Regisseur und Produzent Filme für BOOMTOWN MEDIA. Als Regisseur für Werbung ist er bei Fröhlich Management vertreten.