About Us

For more than 20 years, Uwe Dierks and Thomas Grube collaborate to realise their vision of creative films and their successful distribution.

"Filmmaking, for us it's not only the most exciting way to entertain people, but the strongest to reach their hearts and minds." 

In 1999 Uwe Dierks and Thomas Grube founded BOOMTOWN MEDIA in Berlin together with Andrea Thilo. Until today they develop and produce award winning documentaries for cinema and tv worldwide as well as commissioned works for foundations and corporations. Strong stories, dramaturgically and visually first-rate narrated and produced, with a high and long-lasting value.

Production

"Making a difference is an important motivation for our work."

With WARSZAWA EXPRESS we trace the attitude towards life of young Europeans contributing to the cohesion of Europe (Nomination German TV Award), the international cinema success RHYTHM IS IT! makes the importance of cultural education visible and provokes a movement in Germany, Austria and Switzerland (German Film Award and Bavarian Film Award), the theatrical documentary TRIP TO ASIA prooves how necessary music is for people (Hermann Voss Award of  German Orchestras & Echo Klassik Award), the theatrical documentary CINEMA JENIN tells the touching story of the construction of a cinema in the West Bank and makes the peace-giving power of culture come alive (German Peace Prize), the documentary THE AIDS WAR provocatively takes up a piece of contemporary history (Impact Media Award, Felix Rexhausen Prize, Media Prize of the German AIDS Foundation), TO FIGHT FOR is an inspiring feature film about young men who transform self-hatred in self-confidence and responsibility for their lives (German Cinematography Award). Together with the German Choire Association we ask WHEN ARE YOU COMING? and EXPERIMENT 150 is helping to advance the cultural transformation of a global corporation on all continents, or the commitment to ARTFUL LEARNING, an initiative of Leonard Bernstein that enables young people to learn inspired by the arts.

Coming soon:

REBELS FOR THE OLYMPIC GAMES, a young and inspiring European generation and their rousing passion for an extraordinary discipline.

COMMUNICATION

"We wish to connect worlds, unite emotions and intentions to stimulate constructive impulses and empathy."

Since 2006 BOOMTOWN MEDIA also distributes films in its world sales branch BOOMTOWN MEDIA INTERNATIONAL. Here collaborations and partnerships with like-minded are developed to reach wider audiences. With expertise in financing, international co-productions and sales as well as communications BTMI Films collaborates with international distributors and TV broadcasters as well as foundations and corporations to build bridges, to help the films reach their audiences.

Über uns

Seit mehr als 20 Jahren realisieren und vertreiben Uwe Dierks und Thomas Grube gemeinsam Filme  – für Kino, Fernsehen und andere Medien.

"Filme sind für uns die wirkungsvollste Form, Menschen zu unterhalten und  ihre Herzen und Köpfe zu erreichen."

Uwe Dierks und Thomas Grube gründen BOOMTOWN MEDIA 1999 gemeinsam mit Andrea Thilo in Berlin. Bis heute entwickeln und produzieren sie preisgekrönte Dokumentarfilme für Kino und Fernsehen sowie Auftragsarbeiten für Stiftungen und Unternehmen. Starke Geschichten, dramaturgisch und visuell erstklassig erzählt und produziert.

Produktion

"Etwas zu bewirken ist eine wichtige Motivation für unsere Arbeit."

WARSCHAU EXPRESS spürt dem Lebensgefühl junger Europäer nach, die zum Zusammenhalt Europas beitragen (Nominierung Deutscher Fernsehpreis), RHYTHM IS IT! macht die Bedeutung kultureller Bildung sichtbar und provoziert eine Bewegung in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz (u.a. Deutscher Filmpreis, Bayerischer Filmpreis. Preis der Deutschen Kinogilde, Deutscher Kritikerpreis, Echo Klassik), TRIP TO ASIA lässt uns erleben, wie lebensnotwendig Musik sein kann (u.a. Tiempo de Historia Award, Preis der Deutschen Kino Gilde, Hermann Voss Preis der Deutschen Orchester u. Echo Klassik), CINEMA JENIN erzählt die berührende Geschichte des Aufbaus eines Kinos im Westjordanland und macht die friedengebende Kraft von Kultur spürbar (u.a. Friedenspreis des deutschen Films, Deutscher Kamerapreis), DER AIDS KRIEG greift provozierend ein Stück Zeitgeschichte auf (Impact Media Award, Felix-Rexhausen-Preis, Medienpreis der Deutschen AIDS-Stiftung), FRIEDENSSCHLAG ist ein inspirierender Kinofilm über junge Männer, die Selbsthass in Selbstvertrauen und Verantwortung für ihr eigenes Leben umwandeln (u.a. Deutscher Kamerapreis, Deutscher Schnittpreis). Gemeinsam mit dem Deutschen Chorverband fragen wir  "WANN KOMMST DU?". Auf allen Kontinenten hilft EXPERIMENT 150 den Kulturwandel des  Konzerns BASF positiv zu inspirieren oder unser Engagement für ARTFUL LEARNING – eine Initiative von Leonard Bernstein, die jungen Menschen zukunftsweisendes Lernen ermöglicht.

Demnächst:

REBELS FOR THE OLYMPIC GAMES, eine junge und inspirierende Europäische Generation und ihre mitreißende Leidenschaft für eine außergewöhnliche Disziplin.

Kommunikation

"Wir wollen Welten verbinden, Emotionen und Intentionen vereinen und konstruktive Impulse und Empathie stimulieren."

Seit 2006 entwickeln wir Partnernetzwerke und Strategien für Kommunikation im Weltvertrieb BOOMTOWN MEDIA INTERNATIONAL. Auf unsere Filme zugeschnitten, vom Vermarktungskonzept bis zur Distribution, arbeitet BTMI Films sowohl mit internationalen Vertrieben und TV Sendern als auch mit Stiftungen und Unternehmen, baut Brücken, damit die Filme ihr gewünschtes Publikum erreichen.