Thomas Grube, writer, director and producer

At 22, Thomas Grube founds his first production company, Memphis Productions, with which he produces a short film based on a novella by Tankred Dorst and, in 1994, a comprehensive documentary of the Love Parade (Stud!o K7). At the same time, he begins studying American Studies and Political Science at the FU Berlin, before studying "Film and Television Business" for a few semesters at the HFF Konrad Wolf in Potsdam-Babelsberg.

Together with Uwe Dierks, Thomas Grube founded the company "grube&dierks" in 1997. Two years later, together with journalist Andrea Thilo, they founded the production company BOOMTOWN MEDIA in Berlin, where Thomas Grube has been working as a writer, director and producer ever since. Closeness and authentic humanity, strong dramaturgy and visual language, emotion, innovation and a high production value characterize his films, which regularly experience successful international distribution.

Award-winning films such as RHYTHM IS IT! or TRIP TO ASIA (both PIFFL MEDIEN) are among his most successful cinema documentaries. For RHYTHM IS IT! he received the Bavarian Film Award, the German Film Award, the German Cinema Guild Award and a number of other awards. For TRIP TO ASIA Thomas Grube received, among others, the "Tiempo del Historia Award" at the Valladolid International Film Festival, the German Cinema Guild Award and the ECHO Klassik Award. Both films premiered at the Berlin International Film Festival. For his documentary THE ART OF BEING A VIRTUOSO about the pianist Lang Lang (ZDF/ BBC/ SONY) he received the Grand Prix Golden Prague. The concert film about the organ virtuoso Cameron Carpenter, which is part of the documentary THE SOUND OF MY LIFE (ZDF / ARTE / WOWOW/SONY), also received the ECHO Klassik Award.

As a producer, Thomas Grube has been a shareholder of the company Boomtown Media for many years and is responsible here as a creative producer, among other things for the cinema documentaries FRIEDENSSCHLAG - Das Jahr der Entscheidung by Gerardo Milsztein (World Premiere Berlin International Film Festival / German Camera Award - "Best Documentary"),  PORGY AND ME - In the World of Gershwin's Porgy and Bess (World Premiere International Hof Film Festival) or CINEMA JENIN - The Story of a Dream by Marcus Vetter (World Premiere IDFA Amsterdam / "Peace Prize of German Film" / German Camera Award (distributed by Senator). The dance film ELEMENTS OF MINE by Norbert Servos received the Moving Pictures Award Toronto, HARKSEN ODER DIE GROSSE GIER by Christian Jentzsch was awarded the Ernst Schneider Prize and Jobst Knigge's THE AIDS WAR received the Impact Media Award New York.

Thomas Grube is a member of the German Film Academy.

Thomas Grube, Autor, Regisseur und Produzent

Thomas Grube gründet mit 22 seine erste Produktionsfirma Memphis Productions, mit der er einen Kurzfilm nach einer Novelle von Tankred Dorst produziert und 1994 eine umfassende Dokumentation der Love Parade (Stud!o K7). Parallel beginnt er ein Studium der Amerikanistik und Politologie an der FU Berlin, bevor er für einige Semester „Film und Fernsehwirtschaft“ an der HFF Konrad Wolf in Potsdam-Babelsberg studiert.

Gemeinsam mit Uwe Dierks gründet Thomas Grube 1997 das Unternehmen "grube&dierks". Zwei Jahre später gründen beide mit der Journalistin Andrea Thilo die Produktionsfirma BOOMTOWN MEDIA in Berlin, wo Thomas Grube seitdem als Autor, Regisseur und Produzent tätig ist. Nähe und authentische Menschlichkeit, starke Dramaturgie und Bildsprache, Emotion, Innovation und ein hohes Production Value zeichnen seine Filme aus, die regelmäßig erfolgreiche internationale Auswertung erfahren.

Preisgekrönte Filme wie RHYTHM IS IT! oder TRIP TO ASIA (beide PIFFL MEDIEN) zählen zu seinen erfolgreichsten Kinodokumentarfilmen. Für RHYTHM IS IT! erhält er den Bayerischen Filmpreis, Deutschen Filmpreis, den Preis der Deutschen Kinogilde und eine Vielzahl weiterer Auszeichnungen, für TRIP TO ASIA wird Thomas Grube u.a. mit dem „Tiempo del Historia Award“ beim Valladolid International Film Festival, dem Preis der Deutschen Kinogilde und dem ECHO Klassik Award ausgezeichnet. Beide Filme wurden auf den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin uraufgeführt. Für seinen Dokumentarfilm THE ART OF BEING A VIRTUOSO über den Pianisten Lang Lang (ZDF/ BBC/ SONY) erhält er den Grand Prix Golden Prague, der zum Dokumentarfilm THE SOUND OF MY LIFE (ZDF / ARTE / WOWOW/SONY) gehörende Konzertfilm über den Orgelvirtuosen Cameron Carpenter wird mit dem Album ebenfalls mit dem ECHO Klassik Award ausgezeichnet. 

Als Produzent ist Thomas Grube viele Jahre Gesellschafter des Unternehmens Boomtown Media und hier als kreativer Produzent verantwortlich, u.a. für die Kinodokumentarfilme FRIEDENSSCHLAG – Das Jahr der Entscheidung von Gerardo Milsztein (Weltpremiere Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin / Deutschen Kamerapreis - „Bester Dokumentarfilm“),  PORGY AND ME – In der Welt von Gershwins Porgy und Bess (Weltpremiere Internationale Hofer Filmtage) oder CINEMA JENIN – Die Geschichte eines Traums von Marcus Vetter (Weltpremiere IDFA Amsterdam / „Friedenspreis des Deutschen Films" / Deutscher Kamerapreis (Verleih Senator). Der Tanzfilm ELEMENTS OF MINE von Norbert Servos erhielt den Moving Pictures Award Toronto, HARKSEN ODER DIE GROSSE GIER von Christian Jentzsch wurde mit dem Ernst Schneider Preis ausgezeichnet und Jobst Knigges DER AIDSKRIEG erhielt den Impact Media Award New York.

Thomas Grube ist Mitglied der Deutschen Filmakademie.